On Monday 27th November, The Marches Academy Trust hosted a Celebratory Dinner at Sir John Talbot’s School in Whitchurch in recognition of the continued support provided by local businesses and sponsors throughout the year.

50 local sponsors and supporters of the Trust, Sir John Talbot’s School and The Marches School attended the evening. The Mayors of both Whitchurch and Oswestry were amongst the prestigious guests, as were the Rotarians, Oswestry Lions and Shropshire Sailing Club all of whom have made significant contributions to the various initiatives and community projects carried out by the students across the Trust

Mrs Sarah Longville, Chief Executive of The Marches Academy Trust warmly welcomed guests before they enjoyed an evening of entertainment, provided from musically talented students across both The Marches School and Sir John Talbot’s School, and a two course meal prepared by Shire Catering.

The event enabled the audience to witness the success of a school led initiative ‘The Futures Award’, which enhances student’s skills across leadership, organisation, resilience, initiative and communication. Students shared their achievements and thanked a number of local sponsors included in the scheme; Lanyon Bowdler, Oswestry Town Council, Tara Ethical Education Recruitment and Grocontinental.

The evening concluded with Mr David O’Toole, Headteacher of Sir John Talbot’s School proudly presenting a £5,000 cheque to Kate Thomas, a representative from Macmillan Cancer Support which was raised from the inaugural Whitchurch 10K run in April. Presenting the cheque alongside Mr O’Toole was Hayley Alldridge, Helen Apperley and Howard Prince.

Mrs Joanne Jones, Business Manager of The Marches Academy Trust commented, “I would just like to thank everyone who came to celebrate with us this evening. Our guests had the opportunity to see in person the extent of the work that their contributions go towards funding and we were able to show our gratitude for their incredible and continued support.”

Pictured: – Year 10 students Hattie Leslie-Miller, Yasmin Aktar and Ellie Burnett with Miss Jo Phillips.

Students performing.

Futures Award presentation.

Helen Apperley, Kate Thomas, David O’Toole, Hayley Alldridge, Howard Prince, Sarah Downward and Kelly Parsons.

Auto Draft 8Auto Draft 9Auto Draft 10Auto Draft 11Auto Draft 13