The year was 1993 – Jurassic Park was the highest-grossing film in the box office, Meat Loaf’s ‘I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)’ spent 7 weeks at No.1 and English football legend Bobby Moore passed away.

But it was also the year 35 members of staff at Oswestry’s specialist orthopaedic hospital started their careers in the National Health Service.

Today, these members of staff gathered to celebrate at The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital’s annual Long Service Awards, where they were presented with certificates and vouchers by Chairman Harry Turner and Chief Executive Stacey Keegan.

Harry said: “The 35 members of staff who are celebrating their long service have racked up an impressive 1,050 years of NHS service between them, which is just fantastic, and what makes it really special is that some of these staff members have spent their entire careers at RJAH.”

Stacey added: “On behalf of the Executive Team, and also on behalf of the NHS, I would like to thank all our staff who have received their long service award for their commitment to caring for patients over the past 30 years.”

All the staff members presented with a certificate and voucher have dedicated 30 years of more of service either at the Oswestry-based hospital or elsewhere in the NHS.

Andrew Biggs, Medical Illustration Manager, has spent his whole NHS career at RJAH. He said: “I’ve met and worked with some fantastic people over the past 30 years and seen so many changes in terms of both my role and the hospital. I look forward to my future years with the NHS.”

Jane Morgan, a Nurse on Main Outpatients, said: “I have loved my 47 years in the NHS and I love my job. My patients will always come first, and I am still as dedicated and conscientious today as I was 47 years ago. I look forward to many more years with the NHS.”

The full of list of staff celebrating over 30 years’ service this year are: Andrea Bailey, Physiotherapist; Sarah Bassett, Medical Secretary; Andrew Biggs, Medical Illustration Manager; Dr Stuart Bowdler, Consultant Anaesthetist; Helen Downes, Pharmacist; Valerie Duffy, Receptionist; Lisa Gordon, Occupational Therapist; Dr Nick Hadden, Consultant Anaesthetist; Paul Harrison, Healthcare Scientist; Mr Simon Hill, Consultant Surgeon; Sandra Holliday, Operating Department Practitioner; Sandra Homewood, Nurse Practitioner; Julia Howell, Radiographer; Valerie Jones, Radiographer; Mr Nigel Kiely, Consultant Surgeon; Craig Macbeth, Chief Finance and Planning Officer; Ian MacLennan, Assistant Chief Nurse; Wendy Mayne, Pharmacy Technician; Kirsteen Millar, Pharmacy Support Worker; Jane Morgan, Nurse; Jayne Morris, Clinical Support Worker; Ian Nicholas, Recovery Nurse; Claire Nicholas, Research Nurse; Diana Owen, Head of Financial Accounting; Mr Simon Pickard, Consultant Surgeon; Carol-Ann Pugh, Cleanliness Technician; Dawn Pugh, DXA Technician; Julie Richardson, Support Secretary; Maureen Rowley, Cleanliness Technician; Sally Van Liefland, Physiotherapist; Marie Williams, Ward Clerk; Dr Huw Williams, Consultant Anaesthetist; Heather Wilson, Clinical Support Worker; Pamela Wright, Nurse Practitioner; and Jennifer Broadbent, Physiotherapist.